Spicy Shrimp with Yogurt

I really didn’t want to cook tonight.

This was strange, because I had just gotten two new cookbooks for Christmas (Dinner: A Love Story, and The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook) and I’d drooled over their lovely pages over the longish break. I didn’t have time to do much cooking beyond the basics, since I was in a wedding, and had a family reunion, and saw Les Miz, and basically had a whirlwind social life (which never happens to me, except around the holidays). So, for today, my first day back at work, I’d bookmarked this really easy recipe from Dinner.

And yet, I was toying with the idea of drive-through.

I bucked up, remembered that I was re-reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and was GOING TO COOK, DAGNABBIT, so I went home, took off my boots, and began this meal.

It takes maybe 10 minutes–I’d forgotten to defrost the shrimp ahead of time so I had to quickly do that. And it was good.

If you have a fully stocked spice cabinet, this is super easy. If not, make sure you have all these before you begin. These are common spices, so if you don’t have them, they’re good to have for lots of other things besides this dish. (As in: the spices will get used.)

Spicy Shrimp with Yogurt

Adapted from Dinner: A Love Story

For the spice mixture: 

3/4 tsp. salt (I used regular old table salt)

1/2 tsp. ground cumin

1/2 tsp. curry powder

1/8 tsp. cayenne

1/8 tsp. cinnamon

 

Shrimp, as many as you want. I had a bag of large shrimp, so I took out about a third of it (It was a 1 1/2 lb. bag) and defrosted that.

1 tbsp. butter

Greek yogurt as accompaniment (because yes, this is spicy)

Mix the spices together and sprinkle over shrimp. Toss.

In a large skillet, melt the butter, then add shrimp and cook for about five minutes, until done. Add extra spice mixture as you toss the shrimp.

Serve with yogurt and/or cilantro, naan, and lime sections.

(The original recipe called for 1 1/4 lb. of shrimp for four people. I didn’t need that much shrimp!)

 

Leave a Reply

