Menu plan for Christmas Week 2012

When I’m home for Christmas break, I love to cook, especially when it’s going to be chilly like it’s forecasted to be. This year is a bit busier than other years, but I’ve still got a lot of cooking planned.

Here’s what’s up: (bold is a new recipe!)

Tomorrow: Assuming no other dinner plans pop up, I’m making Kedgeree from Jamie’s Food Revolution. (JFR)

Sunday: Dinner: Onion Soup from Joanne Harris’ My French Kitchen.

Monday–Christmas Eve: Breakfast/brunch with friends, dinner out. I will, however, be making the Christmas Cheese Ball from the America’s Test Kitchen cookbook. It will be halved, because I only have a baby food processor, and it won’t be able to handle the massive amounts of cheese called for by the original.

Tuesday–Christmas: Breakfast will be the usual Christmas Breakfast of sausage and cinnamon rolls. Lunch/Dinner (we sort of combine them), I’ll be making green beans from Barefoot Contessa Foolproof

Wednesday: Dinner: Shrimp and Avocado salad from JFR .

Thursday: Family Reunion starts, and rehearsal for the wedding I’m in. So food will be restaurant food.

Friday: Wedding: reception lunch, family dinner. Sort of. There wil be a lot of eating that day, because the reception’s at three but the wedding’s at 11. So we’re doing a bridesmaid lunch after the wedding.

Saturday: Chicken Tikka Marsala for dinner (JFR)

Sunday: (12/30) My favorite sweet and sour pork stir fry from JFR. Yes, lots of JFR this week!

New Year’s: Well usually I make a roast chicken and sides on New Year’s for my parents. This year the guest list may or may not be bigger. We’ll see. I do love roasting a chicken to ring in the New Year though!

There also may or may not be Guinness Cake Made. And I think I’ll do the Irish Soda Bread from Barefoot Contessa at Home, because it’s one of the loveliest things to have with coffee at breakfast. It’s delicious. And so fast. 

What are you making for Christmas?

Leave a Reply

