Dinner party salad: Jackson Salad

This salad is a big hit at my fall/winter dinner parties, when I don’t want to make my balsamic strawberry salad because strawberries just aren’t as good out of season. The best part is it’s all made of things I keep around in the house, except for the lettuce, which I usually need to buy before a party. I make this right before dinner is served.

Jackson Salad (adapted from Rachael Ray’s 30 Minute Meals)

The SALAD:

one bag spring mix salad leaves

3 tbsp. capers, rinsed (I put them in a small strainer and rinse off the brine)

1/4 of a red onion (If you have a tiny one you could use of all of it), sliced thinly

The Dressing:

1 tsp. dijon mustard

1/4 tsp. (a few shakes) Montreal Steak Seasoning by McCormick, or other steak seasoning you have around (Rachael uses this seasoning blend a lot in her recipes, so I just keep it around. And it’s delicious, to boot)

1/3 c. extra virgin olive oil

1/4 c. white wine vinegar

2 shakes Worcestershire sauce

Combine ingredients in a small bowl and whisk.

Place the salad components in the serving bowl, add dressing right before serving, and lightly toss.

2 thoughts on “Dinner party salad: Jackson Salad

  1. Pingback: Drunken Tuscan Pasta | Emily's Midwest Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Recipes | Living Adventurously

Leave a comment